COE Academy EUYO Scholarship Programme

The European Union Youth Orchestra (EUYO) has announced the three members of the orchestra who were awarded the COE Academy EUYO Scholarship Programme; Paula Sanz Alasà (violin), Martino Moruzzi (clarinet) and Sasha Witteveen (double bass).

The COE Academy was created in 2009 in order to give a select group of exceptional students the chance to study with the principal players of COE and, importantly, to give the students the opportunity to travel “on tour” with the orchestra, to experience, understand and be inspired by the orchestra’s unique artistic and European ethos and passion for making music.

Each Academy student spends 3-5 days on tour with the orchestra receiving individual lessons and coaching from COE principals. Students sometimes have the chance to play with the Orchestra during rehearsals and play chamber music with other students and with members of COE. They are made to feel as if they are a member of the Orchestra for the time they are “on tour” and can experience the idealism and unique ethos of the COE: to share the member’s passion for making music at the highest level with like-minded friends from diverse European backgrounds.